Our Secretary

Andrew F. Oaeke

As the department’s senior governance body, the Executive Board is Treasury’s key decision-making body tasked with ensuring that the department is meeting its strategic goals and objectives. Our senior leaders work closely with stakeholders to coordinate efforts to ensure the department’s functions are aligned with its fiscal, monetary and advisory goals in an effective and efficient manner.

Our current Secretary, Andrew F. Oaeke, commenced as Secretary to the Treasury in December 2021. Prior to working in Treasury, Andrew attained a bachelor’s degree in economics from the University of Papua New Guinea and a Master’s degree in International Development Economics from the Australian National University. While with treasury, he served as Acting Deputy Secretary for Economic Policy of the Department of Treasury. He has also additionally served as an Advisor to the Executive Director for the East Asia and Pacific at the World Bank Group Headquarters in Washington DC, USA from 2012 to 2014.

Current Budget

See How the Latest Budget Will Deliver for Papua New Guineans